Dangerous Goods Awareness

The course aim is to give knowledge and understanding of Dangerous Goods Category 9, their potential hazards and the rules applicable to their transport by air.
£65.00 exc. VAT
Login to book
Please login to your account to book or register as a new customer.


  • 1. General awareness, objectives and organisations
  • 2. Legal responsibilities
  • 3. Classification of Dangerous Goods
  • 4. Dangerous Goods allowances
  • 5. Marking, labelling and packing specifications
  • 6. The Dangerous Goods declaration
  • 7. Acceptance and inspection
  • 8. Segregation and loading
  • 9. Provision of information and retention of documentation
  • 10. Dangerous Goods safety

Course aims & objectives

Functions as defined in IATA's 'Dangerous Goods Training Guidance': Function 7.5 - Accepting Passenger and Crew Baggage and Direct Passenger Contact at an Airport

The Dangerous Goods Category 9 course is designed to provide participants with comprehensive knowledge and understanding of dangerous goods, their potential hazards, and the regulations governing their transportation by air. The primary objective of this course is to equip individuals with the ability to identify shipments containing dangerous goods based on labeling, marking, and other indicators. Particularly, it focuses on training passenger handling staff to effectively detect dangerous goods in both baggage and general cargo while ensuring proper handling procedures.

Throughout the course, participants will cover a range of modules that contribute to their overall understanding of dangerous goods transportation:

General awareness, objectives, and organizations: Participants gain an overview of the importance of dangerous goods awareness, the objectives of the training, and the relevant governing bodies and organizations.

Legal responsibilities: This module provides an in-depth understanding of the legal obligations and responsibilities associated with the transport of dangerous goods by air.

Classification of Dangerous Goods: Participants learn about the classification system used for categorizing different types of dangerous goods based on their inherent hazards.

Dangerous Goods allowances: This module covers the specific allowances and restrictions regarding quantities and packaging requirements for different types of dangerous goods.

Marking, labelling, and packing specifications: Participants familiarize themselves with the proper marking, labeling, and packing specifications essential for the safe transportation of dangerous goods.

The Dangerous Goods declaration: This module focuses on the completion and submission of the Dangerous Goods declaration, which contains crucial information about the shipment.

Acceptance and inspection: Participants learn the procedures and protocols involved in accepting and inspecting shipments of dangerous goods.

Segregation and loading: This module highlights the importance of segregating incompatible dangerous goods and proper loading techniques to prevent potential hazards.

Provision of information and retention of documentation: Participants understand the significance of providing accurate information and maintaining necessary documentation throughout the transportation process.

Dangerous Goods safety: The final module emphasizes the overall safety aspects associated with handling and transporting dangerous goods.

By successfully completing the Dangerous Goods Category 9 course, participants will acquire the knowledge, skills, and awareness needed to identify and handle dangerous goods in compliance with the applicable regulations. This course ensures the safety of air transportation systems and enables passenger handling staff to fulfill their crucial role in maintaining the security and integrity of cargo operations.